St Neots Cycle Club – Time Trial Summary 2011

The 11.2 mile Abbotsley course was once again host to the 18 week Time Trial season for St Neots Cycle Club (SNCC). As always the course was challenging and demanding and subject of course to many changing weather conditions either for or against the Time Trialists.

We opened the season on 28th April with the last TT on Thursday 25th August.

It is important to acknowledge the contribution of a few dedicated folk who make the TT happen week in and week out.

First our dedicated timekeepers , who whatever the weather are setting up the warning signage on the course , encouraging and cajoling the riders , making sure we start on time , pushing us off and keeping and maintaining  immaculate time and session records. In addition, of course, they are the only ones who fully understand the Handicap System !!!

John Brysden  and Brian Morley have been members of the club for 40  years and both have a raft of great stories and anecdotes about their own cycling history and that of SNCC. On behalf of the TT riders many thanks for all your help and encouragement.

Then we come to Mr “Fixed Wheel” Gosling (although interesting that on the final night the good bike was on show to set a PB for the season !!) who is our contact with the media and updates the SNCC site with the results. We have had all of this season’s results published in the St Neots Town Crier and we know that Chris’s “editorial genius” has also helped increase the Club’s membership and general awareness of its existence through his efforts. Thanks Chris.

So to the season :-

This has been an interesting season : -

  •     31 riders took part over the 18 week season . We had 13 in 2010 so great to see the numbers increasing and let’s hope that 2012 sees a further increase as word spreads and our membership increases

  •     Justin Lomas took the honours in both the 11.2 TT and 22.4 TT with outstanding times of 26.37minutes and 55.11 minutes respectively

  •     All Justin’s and Richard Ostler’s times were sub 30 minutes on the 11.2 mile course

  •     Leon Bradford at 69 years of age continues to push a mean pedal with very respectable times and has an almost perfect record attendance with 17 out of 18 appearances at the TT.  His best time was a full 3 minute improvement on his slowest time

  •    Geoff Smith our other “super vet” at a mere 67 years was usually sub 30 minutes and clearly he has been the beneficiary of his winter training inFrance

  •     Adrian Taverna won the Handicap Trophy with an impressive 65 points and he kept the lead throughout the season. An outstanding finish to the season saw him deliver a 30.30 minute TT which was over a 2 minute improvement on his average for the season

  •     Over 1500 miles were ridden over the 11.2 mile Abbotsley course at an average speed of 21.35 mph during the season

  •     Kevin Stokes & Geoff Perry enjoyed a couple of evenings with us on their Tandem with times of  under 25 minutes clocking at 27 mph

  •     13 Guests(non members) joined us during the season and set some very respectable times

  •     A few of the SNCC regulars took their talents to the Rockingham course on TT night and set some very respectable times

2011 Roll of Honour:

  •     Fastest Time – Justin Lomas – 26.37 minutes

  •     Handicap Winner – Adrian Taverna – 65.5 points

  •     Ashman Handicap Cup 22.4 mile  TT – Justin Lomas – 55.11 minutes

2001 TT Result table


2001 TT Result details